Governance structure

Chellaston Infant School is an academy within East Midlands Education Trust, with our own local governing body being accountable to the Trustees. Governors retain a considerable amount of delegated authority to make decisions affecting the day to day running of our school.

Board of Trustees

The Board meet regularly and are the accountable body who determines which functions to delegate. The board has established specific committees and named trustees to deal with issues such as finance, audit, risk, education and standards, strategic development, pay, performance and HR.

The Chair of Trustees is Dr Andrew Hindmarsh, who can be contacted via the Clerk to Trustees, Elaine Aldridge at


Trust Members hold the board of trustees to account for the effective governance of the trust and are tasked with assessing the board’s performance to ensure the purpose of the trust, and its charitable objects are being fulfilled.  It is the trust board, not the Members, who are the organisation’s key decision makers


The terms of reference/scheme of delegation and supplemental funding agreement for our school can be found in the ‘documents’ section on the Trust’s website at

The Local Governing Board (LGB)

The Local Governing Board support the vision of the Trust at a school-level and provide a monitoring role for standards specifically in relation to academic performance, quality of care and provision for the academy.  They play a support and challenge role, acting as a critical friend in ensuring the work of the academy to maintain and improve standards.  They make decisions in line with the Scheme of Delegation, delegated to it by the Trust Board.

Business Interests Declarations for our Local Governing Board can be viewed here

Follow the link to the Schools Financial Benchmarking website to review  our school finance information. Schools Financial Benchmarking

Governor Strategic Plan – coming soon for 2021-24

Ross McCristal
Chair of the Local Governing Board
Community Governor

Jane Walker
Vice Chair of the Local Governing Board
Pupil Premium Governor

Community Governor

Community Governor

Charlotte Convey
Mental Health Governor
Parent Governor

Ellen Hancock
Community Governor

Denise Owusu
Governor responsible for Sports Premium, Healthy Living Team and Early Years link Governor
Parent Governor

Katy Adamson
Finance Governor
Community Governor

Gemma McKeown
Staff Governor

Kieran Howell
Community Governor

Katrina Haines
Community Governor

Paul Stevenson
Safeguarding Lead Governor
Community Governor

Community Governor